* Login 
* FAQ    * Search

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Malware on BH?
PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2011 6:15 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 3217
Location: California, land of the homeless and hippies
Chrome flags me occasionally on BH:

Image

Any ideas on the cause? If it is an advertiser, could you blacklist them?

_________________
Image

Excellent


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Malware on BH?
PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2011 7:39 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 11:49 am
Posts: 2008
Location: Kentucky, We are KFC
palmertech wrote:
Chrome flags me occasionally on BH:

[image]

Any ideas on the cause? If it is an advertiser, could you blacklist them?

It's been nearly a year since Chrome has flagged Benheck for me.

Might still want to get this checked just in case.

_________________
Image Image
Image
^^^ Yes, It's legit


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Malware on BH?
PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2011 1:02 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2009 6:42 pm
Posts: 641
Location: Hollywood
Oh I just use a mac and the problem is solved.







trolltrolltrolltrolltrolltroll

_________________
Image Image


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Malware on BH?
PostPosted: Sat Oct 29, 2011 6:16 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 5:47 pm
Posts: 10491
Location: Spamalot
I think maybe it was either something an ad tried to slip in, or (more likely) images from a spambot post that Google's crawler picked up on before it got cleaned up.

_________________
Twitter
http://www.pcwgaming.com
If you want a Dropbox account, please use my referral link


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Malware on BH?
PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 2:33 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 11:49 am
Posts: 2008
Location: Kentucky, We are KFC
I just got this on the Knights Corner topic:
Spoiler:
Image

_________________
Image Image
Image
^^^ Yes, It's legit


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Malware on BH?
PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 3:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 6:48 pm
Posts: 69
Location: romania
That is weird !
On the adress bar it says benheck.com but google says "We have notified secretpirate.com "

_________________
I never give up. But I always fail.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Malware on BH?
PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 7:13 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 8:16 pm
Posts: 145
Location: Vancouver BC CANADA
Oh! My knights corner thread!
Don't worry, nothing's sketch over there. I got the message from this thread, but I "proceed anyways". I can't see anything "bad" coming from here.

_________________
Setting up a website- I need input!
If you've got time- PM me for link.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Malware on BH?
PostPosted: Sun Nov 20, 2011 1:26 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 3217
Location: California, land of the homeless and hippies
Yup, several threads have given me this same message again.

And Griehm, it would not be from "here". It would most likely be from some kind of advertisement with less than honest intentions. If you go with less reputable ad-serving services, it can be a common problem. Not sure what all Ben is using, though.

_________________
Image

Excellent


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Malware on BH?
PostPosted: Sun Nov 20, 2011 10:48 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 6:48 pm
Posts: 69
Location: romania
I do not know what is happening...
Spam increased,google chrome finds "secretpirate.com"instead of benheck
Avira found some hidden objects...
Maybe we should leave the forums alone for a bit...So the mods can do what they have to...
Do not get me wrong,I am not blaming the mods,I bet they are working 24:7 right now to solve this.

_________________
I never give up. But I always fail.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Malware on BH?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2011 12:21 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 3217
Location: California, land of the homeless and hippies
The mods here cannot do much, only Ben has the power.

_________________
Image

Excellent


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Malware on BH?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2011 1:27 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 11:49 am
Posts: 2008
Location: Kentucky, We are KFC
I found the source of the "secretpirate.com" problem. It's griehm avatar, it linked from that site.

_________________
Image Image
Image
^^^ Yes, It's legit


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Malware on BH?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2011 11:15 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 6:48 pm
Posts: 69
Location: romania
so it is a simple fix...
griehm! change your avatar!
There http://www.gifsoup.com/view/58688/gamec ... uence.html
Use that one!^^

_________________
I never give up. But I always fail.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Malware on BH?
PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 12:44 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 5:47 pm
Posts: 10491
Location: Spamalot
Added *.secretpirate.com/* to my browser's content blocker.

If you're not using your own hosting, please upload your images to a trustworthy host like Photobucket or Imgur.

_________________
Twitter
http://www.pcwgaming.com
If you want a Dropbox account, please use my referral link


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Malware on BH?
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 3:54 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 12:41 pm
Posts: 641
bicostp wrote:
Added *.secretpirate.com/* to my browser's content blocker.

If you're not using your own hosting, please upload your images to a trustworthy host like Photobucket or Imgur.

It is my personal opinion that Photobucket should die in a pit fire for utterly breaking Google image search results hosted by them. (They insist on loading a page when you try to open an image from the search results. Only problem is that after that you can't open said image unless you open a different browser.)
Imgur is good though. And Imageshack is ok too.

_________________
My blog
Nonelectronics <- Gameboy Classic Backlight

Being the sadistic bastard I am, I have covered Frog's left eye with a Santa hat.

Last edited by nitro2k01 tomorrow, 1:48 pm; edited 1 time in total


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Malware on BH?
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 3:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 8:16 pm
Posts: 145
Location: Vancouver BC CANADA
OK. Changed. Sorry :oops:

This looks just as good though.

Issue closed.

_________________
Setting up a website- I need input!
If you've got time- PM me for link.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group