benheck.com Forums

Videogame Hacking
It is currently Wed Jan 17, 2018 2:19 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2012 9:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 9:18 pm
Posts: 1
I'm currently building a portable NES and wanted to use the original Power and Reset switches. The reset works fine but the power switch doesn't. I'm guessing it has to do with the two pins I'm not using for where the RF Box used to be.

Is there something I have to do in order to use the original power and reset buttons? Thanks in advance.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 7:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 6:36 pm
Posts: 52
Location: South Korea
RedSeven4 wrote:
I'm currently building a portable NES and wanted to use the original Power and Reset switches. The reset works fine but the power switch doesn't. I'm guessing it has to do with the two pins I'm not using for where the RF Box used to be.

Is there something I have to do in order to use the original power and reset buttons? Thanks in advance.



Since you said your reset button was still functioning, I'm going to assume that your power/reset buttons are still installed on their little chunk of PCB. If that is the case, then this couldn't be easier. Look at the 5 wires coming off of the little board your power/reset buttons are on. There's a white one, a red one, a brown one, a yellow one, and an orange one. They're numbered, too. 5,2,1,4,3 respectively. So what you want to do is take your brown wire and red wire, and cut them off where they go into the blue plug that plugs into the motherboard. Solder the brown wire to the spot you currently have your positive wire going to (where the RF box used to be.) Then connect the red wire to the positive terminal of whatever you are using for a power source (battery, or whatever.) If you did everything right, then your original power switch should work just like it used to, and your reset button should still be working also.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2012 3:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 6:36 pm
Posts: 52
Location: South Korea
Did that work out for you? If so, I'm going to do more or less the same thing in one of my current projects.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group