benheck.com Forums

Videogame Hacking
It is currently Wed Jan 17, 2018 2:23 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2012 2:27 pm 
Offline
Portablizer Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:26 am
Posts: 853
Location: PA
Hi Guys,

Not too sure why I pushed my luck so much.

I had managed to wire up my video encoder from longhornengineer without too much issue.

Image Image

But then I decided that the 2600 would fit much better in the case without the player two stuff - so I decided I should be able to cut off the right side of the board. Then I was thinking I would just need to hoop up a few items on the 4 x 4 square & I would be good to go, right? No such luck yet. I'm kind of stuck & could use some help. If you can help me figure out what I'm doing wrong I'd be so happy & can continue on with my project.

Here are a few pics.

Image Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2012 9:33 am 
Offline
Portablizer Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:26 am
Posts: 853
Location: PA
Ok - I've made some progress. I've got my video back.

It turns out I had the wrong connection to the Y (+5 v in) see below.

Image Image

Now the big question is, do I push my luck & cut the rest of the board down to the 4 X 4 square, or do I stop while I'm ahead. I'm thinking I'll only need to move 1 wire (the red one that is going to the 7805 on hte left side. What do you guys think ?

Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2012 4:58 pm 
Offline
Portablizer Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:26 am
Posts: 853
Location: PA
Kind of depressing.

1st off - getting no response from the boards. I guess I should just be more patient.

2nd, I went & cut off left half of the board.... and now I do have video.... but only in B & W.......

:cry:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2012 5:55 pm 
Offline
Portablizer Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:45 am
Posts: 464
Location: Turkey
You need to feed the color pot with 7.5v at least to get the color back...

_________________
I TAKE COMMISSIONS FOR CNC-ROUTED CASES AND PORTABLES... JUST P.M. ME!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2012 7:02 pm 
Offline
Portablizer Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:26 am
Posts: 853
Location: PA
Yes, this definitely seems to be my area of confusion. Apparently I still need to use the color tint potentiometer. I guess that Unregulated still needs to go through it. I"m not sure what else, as I'm also using the longhorne engineer video mod or how those two items really need to work together. I guess if you could provide some infor on that I'd be really appreciative. Thanks.

P.S. I guess this explains why I was getting full color before I chopped of the left half of the board.....


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 4:57 am 
Offline
Portablizer Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:45 am
Posts: 464
Location: Turkey
Watch Ben's latest Atarip below and if you still don't understand, I can write a simple how-to here for you...



http://www.element14.com/community/docs ... atari-2600

_________________
I TAKE COMMISSIONS FOR CNC-ROUTED CASES AND PORTABLES... JUST P.M. ME!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:18 pm 
Offline
Portablizer Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:26 am
Posts: 853
Location: PA
Hi, I enjoyed watching that video, but it basically shows Ben using his video mod, which maybe I should switch to. I'm using the longhorne mod, which I'm not real sure how it works in conjuction with the color tint potentiometer. I'm probably just being stupid. I do appreciate the help your giving me though. I guess If need be, I can just not remove the left portion of the board, next time too....


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 7:31 pm 
Offline
Portablizer Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:45 am
Posts: 464
Location: Turkey
You can cut to board as small as 4"x4". Removing the left part is not a problem; you can still have great video with LE mod with full color.

Buy this: http://www.ebay.com/itm/100pcs-504-500K ... 41672dceb5

You can use that pot with 5v. Right pin is Ground, Left pin is 5 volts and the middle(upper) pin is to TIA pin 10. TIA is the lowest chip on the board and it's numbered on the solder side.

All you need to do is that. Let us know the result...

_________________
I TAKE COMMISSIONS FOR CNC-ROUTED CASES AND PORTABLES... JUST P.M. ME!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 4:10 am 
Offline
Portablizer Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:26 am
Posts: 853
Location: PA
c_mon - Thanks for all of your help - I have purchased, now I just have to wait for them to arrive. Hopefully I'll be able to finish this project....


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2012 4:37 pm 
Offline
Portablizer Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:45 am
Posts: 464
Location: Turkey
No problem... Let us know when you fix the color...

_________________
I TAKE COMMISSIONS FOR CNC-ROUTED CASES AND PORTABLES... JUST P.M. ME!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 8:38 pm 
Offline
Portablizer Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:26 am
Posts: 853
Location: PA
No luck... :cry: still only B & W

I will have to post some pics of my set up......really sad, hate to kill another Atari.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2012 2:25 am 
Offline
Portablizer Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:45 am
Posts: 464
Location: Turkey
Have you tried to adjust the color with a screwdriver? It should work. Check your connections. Also, it's good to send pictures...

_________________
I TAKE COMMISSIONS FOR CNC-ROUTED CASES AND PORTABLES... JUST P.M. ME!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2012 7:19 am 
Offline
Portablizer Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:26 am
Posts: 853
Location: PA
Yes, I did try adjusting w\ screwdriver.

Here is a picture anyways, not sure if it will help.
Image

Ground is connected to the metal strip around the 4 x 4 square
+5 is the bottom (yellow) wire & TIA pin 10 is top (red) wire.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2012 7:19 am 
Offline
Portablizer Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:26 am
Posts: 853
Location: PA
Yes, I did try adjusting w\ screwdriver.

Here is a picture anyways, not sure if it will help.
Image

Ground is connected to the metal strip around the 4 x 4 square
+5 is the bottom (yellow) wire & TIA pin 10 is top (red) wire.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2012 5:09 pm 
Offline
Portablizer Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:45 am
Posts: 464
Location: Turkey
I solder the pot in the following way:

Right pin is Ground, Left pin is 5 volts and the middle(upper) pin is to TIA pin 10.

It should help...

_________________
I TAKE COMMISSIONS FOR CNC-ROUTED CASES AND PORTABLES... JUST P.M. ME!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group